Saturday, February 5, 2022

2021-2022 NOS(E) Award Winners

The NOS(E) Award, run by the Mikhail Prokhorov Foundation, announced 2021’s award winners yesterday, in live debates. Oksana Vasyakina won the jury prize and the critics’ prize for her Рана (The Wound), which I think is very, very good (previous post). Meanwhile, Evgenia Nekrasova won the regional “Wanderer” prize (which wanders off to a new city each year) for Кожа (Skin). Finally, Vladimir Shpakov’s Пленники амальгамы (Prisoners of Amalgam, I think?) won the readers’ choice prize.

I think that pretty much sums up this year’s NOS(E) Award. I’d expected Vasyakina to win at least one jury award and it came as no surprise that she won both the regular jury prize and the critics’ prize. The Wound has really stayed with me. The Wound, by the way, is on the way in English translation, from Catapult and MacLehose, though I’m not sure who’s translating.

Up Next: National Bestseller Award longlist, a.k.a. National Bestseller Award nominees. Coming right up…

Disclaimers and Disclosures: Nothing but the usual. I did receive a PDF of The Wound as a member of the Big Book’s Literary Academy.

1 comment:

  1. So happy for Oksana! Wound is being translated by Elina Alter.